An independent guide for foreign investors, published by IMC, A Member Firm of Andersen Global connect@intuitconsultancy.comAbout IMCContact

Professional Services & GCCs

Recent GCC investments

Selected GCC announcements from 2024 to 2026, as reported by the companies, state governments or the press. All five recent examples are in Chennai or Hyderabad; headcounts are company plans, not commitments.

5GCC announcements by US and European groups listed, Jul 2024 to Sep 2026
₹450 croreBilltrust's three-year commitment to its Hyderabad GCC (28 Sep 2026)
1,000T-Mobile's planned Hyderabad headcount by 2027
1,600JLL's planned workforce at its Hyderabad business services hub
Facts as of 1 October 20264 sources citedHow we keep this current

US and European groups opened or announced GCCs in 2024–2026

The table lists selected announcements reported by the companies, state governments or the press. They are public examples, not a complete record. Headcounts are company plans, not commitments.

CompanyHome countryWhatWhereValue or sizeDateSource
AstraZenecaUK–SwedenExpansion of its GCC, which the company describes as its largest such centre worldwideChennai, Tamil NaduNot disclosedJuly 2024Business Standard, 14 Jul 2024
LonzaSwitzerlandPlans for a new global capability centre, announced by the Swiss contract development and manufacturing groupHyderabad, TelanganaNot disclosed5 Mar 2026BusinessToday, 5 Mar 2026
T-MobileUSTechnology centre (GCC) for software engineering, DevOps, product development, data analytics and cybersecurity; inaugurated June 2026Hyderabad, Telangana250,000 sq ft; about 1,000 staff by 2027Jun 2026Republic World and IndexBox, 4 Jun 2026
JLLUSSecond JLL Business Services hub in India, after Gurugram: 120,000 sq ftHyderabad, TelanganaWorkforce to scale to 1,6006 Aug 2026Business Standard, 6 Aug 2026
BilltrustUSGlobal capability centre of a B2B financial technology companyHyderabad, Telangana₹450 crore over three years28 Sep 2026UNI, 28 Sep 2026 (secondary; retrieved 1 Oct 2026)

Other companies named in the sources

CompanyContextSource
Hyatt InternationalNot an investment: the Supreme Court’s 25 July 2025 ruling found a fixed place PE under Article 5(1) of the treaty where the foreign group controlled Indian operations. See tax and zones.EY alert on Hyatt International, Jul 2025 (secondary)
Tiger GlobalNot an investment: the Supreme Court denied India–Mauritius treaty benefit under GAAR for an indirect share transfer (January 2026).KPMG TaxNewsFlash, 20 Jan 2026; Khaitan & Co, 16 Jan 2026

Reading the pattern

  • Four of the five recent announcements are in Hyderabad and one in Chennai. The state-level support behind these cities is on the state incentives page; Telangana is not among the six states whose GCC policies the sources summarise.
  • The examples span life sciences (AstraZeneca, Lonza), telecoms technology (T-Mobile), real-estate business services (JLL) and financial technology (Billtrust), matching the “six kinds of capability” on the overview.
  • Business Standard counted over 50,000 GCC jobs in Tamil Nadu from more than 40 global companies in the three years to July 2024.

What to check next

  • Treat announced headcounts and floor areas as plans; check the company’s own filings or releases for current figures.
  • Compare the Hyderabad and Chennai examples with the state packages on the state incentives page and the GCC locations page.
  • Note the dates: three of the five announcements fall within 2026, after the Labour Codes, DPDP Rules and the 1 February 2026 safe harbour change.

Planning a capability centre in India?

IMC sets up and runs GCCs under all three models, typically operational in 90 to 120 days, subject to approvals.

Book a discovery conversation